Web Technologies Hangout

What: A recorded video session where we discuss Web Technologies. I would like to focus on the browser, JavaScript, HTML, and CSS. Topics will be taken from recent happenings in the community and from what we are working on.

Where: The conversations happen in a Hangout On Air and are viewable live or recorded on youtube. See previous episodes here.

When: Every Friday from 16:00 to 17:00 GMT (11:00 EST, 09:00 PST)

Who: Anyone who wants to talk about Web Technologies. The limit of Google Hangout is 25 for on Air but I think that is too many. I’m not sure what the right number is but I suspect it is less than 10. You can ask to join by filling out this Google Form

How: Everyone gets on the Hangout a couple minutes before 16:00 and we start the hangout on time. I will create a calendar event and place the hangout link there.

Here is the ongoing Google Doc with topics to be discussed.  Edit access will be given to those invited to join the Hangout.

The idea is for this to be a very low time cost production. With work and a baby my time is limited and an hour a week sounds like the right commitment. If it is known that this is a live hangout on air the expectation of production value is not high. When I have done podcasts in the past we haven’t followed through because of the need for editing and transcription. Additionally without a regular schedule it will never happen. Let’s give this a try and see where it takes us!

I am excited to get going on this as the thing I miss about being in an office is the lunch time discussions about technology that I only get now by going to meetups.

I am open to comments and ideas.

Join us Friday January 20th:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xN-Huef951s

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *